Projonmo Kantho logo
About Us | Contuct Us | Privacy Policy
DHAKA, Monday, 20 August 2018 , BDT52০8Asia/Dhaka- 9:52 Eve
Total Visitor:
PM visits eye hospital to see four injured students Persuade Myanmar to take back Rohingyas: PM Quader urges students not to step into ‘instigation trap’ PM donates Tk 20 lakh to each of Diya, Karim's families Traffic Week from Sunday, announces DMP Where is the movement of students going ? Govt to meet dire consequence if students are attacked: BNP Be patient and return home, says Edu Minister Nahid to protesters Political infiltrators attacked AL office, leaders : Obaidul Quader BNP and Jamaat are inciting students : Sajeeb Wazed

Chhatra League gets new president, secretary

Online Report

Update Time: 4 August 2018 8:31 pm:
Chhatra League gets new president, secretary

Bangladesh Chhatra League's New President Rejwanul Haque Choudhury Shovon and General Secretary Golam Rabbani Collected

Sheikh Hasina has also selected the new leaderships for several other key units.  Prime Minister and Awami League chief Sheikh Hasina has selected the new central leadership of Bangladesh Chhatra League for the next two years.

Rejwanul Haque Choudhury Shovon has been made the new Chhatra League president and Golam Rabbani the general secretary, according to a press release issued on Tuesday night.

The announcement, formally made by Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader, comes nearly two months after the ruling party student wing’s National Council, which was originally supposed to select the new leaderships.

The council was held in May, three years after the previous one which had taken place four years after the one before.

The Saifur Rahman Sohag and SM Jakir Hossain-led 28th central working committee had expired on July 26 last year.

Many Chhatra League leaders had described the delay as a violation of the organization’s charter, which stipulates that the central committee’s tenure will be two years.

Sheikh Hasina, by the power vested in her as the ruling party president, on Tuesday also selected Sonjit Chandra Das and Md Saddam Hussain as the new president and general secretary, respectively, of Chhatra League’s Dhaka University (DU) unit.

Md Ibrahim and Saidur Rahman Hridoy were made the new president and secretary, respectively, of Dhaka metropolitan (north) unit.

Mehedi Hasan and Md Jobayer Ahmed were selected as the new president and secretary, respectively, of Dhaka metropolitan (south) unit.

Shovon and Rabbani are former students of DU’s Law Department. However, Sonjit is still doing his master’s and Saddam is a final-year student in the same department.

Chhatra League’s founder Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman was also a student of this department.

Shovon was a member of the previous Chhatra League central executive committee and Rabbani was the education and study circle affairs secretary.

Also, Sonjit was the president of Chhatra League’s Jagannath Hall unit and Saddam was the deputy law affairs secretary of the central committee.

Write your comment...

It is absolutely illegal to copy or publish any text or image on this website without permission